On the eve of the Lone Star Conference Tournament in Frisco, the league handed out post-season awards Thursday night. 


WT’s Kristen Mattio picked-up the LSC Women’s Coach of the Year honor. Sophomore guard Lexi Hightower made the first team all-conference in addition to being named to the all-academic team. Madison Parker was named to the 2nd team and Delayah Harris and Tiana Parker made honorable mention.

The WT men ‘s team was also well represented with several honors. Junior Ryan Quaid was named LSC Men’s Basketball Academic Player of the Year, while freshman Gaige Prim was tabbed Freshman of the Year and head coach Tom Brown was voted Coach of the Year, highlighting the specialty awards. Senior David Chavlovich earned first team all-conference honors while Jordan Evans made the second team. Rylan Gerber was also named to the all-academic team.

Tournament play begins today in Frisco. The Lady Buffs play Thursday afternoon at 2:30 p.m. against Midwestern State. The game will be broadcast live on Townsquare Media station Lonestar 98.7 FM.


More From NewsTalk 940 AM